Marty's Salvaging the Season in September Training Schedule:the beer before the bonk
PLANNED             ACTUAL             s b r w
    AM L PM Time         AM L PM Time  
1-Sep Monday travel/off           1-Sep Monday        
2-Sep Tuesday   2k swim 8m run 2     2-Sep Tuesday   2k swim 8m (1:05) 1.8   2 8
3-Sep Wednesday light weights 5m run 45m ride, 3m run 3.5     3-Sep Wednesday light weights ~4m (34:00) hot 45m ride (tempo Z2 behind group), 15min run 3.6   45 6 1
4-Sep Thursday 4k swim   8m run 2.25     4-Sep Thursday   3.2k swim 8.5m run (1:08) 2.1   3.2 8.5
5-Sep Friday 40m ride   8m run 3.25     5-Sep Friday   40m ride 6m run (50min), light weights 3.25   40 6 1
6-Sep Saturday 1k swim, 4m run     1     6-Sep Saturday   3m run, 2.2k swim, 4.5m run   1.75   2.2 7.5
7-Sep Sunday OD race, 35m ride cooldown   5m jog 5 8.5k swim, 45 run, 140 ride 7-Sep Sunday race postponed (hurricane) 10m run (1:15), 1:15 spin on trainer 2.5   26 10
          17        
                          15  
PLANNED           ACTUAL             s b r w
8-Sep Monday off           8-Sep Monday     6m run Z2 0.75   6
9-Sep Tuesday 3k swim   8m run 2.25     9-Sep Tuesday 2k ez swim light weights 8m run, 15 min trainer spin 2.5   2 4 8 1
10-Sep Wednesday   5m run 50m ride, 3run 3.75     10-Sep Wednesday   27min Z1 run 50m ride (felt good, rode away from group), 2.7m run 3.5   50 6.2
11-Sep Thursday 4k swim   8m run 2.5     11-Sep Thursday   7.5m run, 3.5k swim, light weights 2.7   3.5 7.5 1
12-Sep Friday 26m ride 8m run   2.25     12-Sep Friday   5m run, 16spin 1.5   16 5
13-Sep Saturday 65m ride   10m run 4.5     13-Sep Saturday 6m jog 15 spin   1.25   15 3
14-Sep Sunday 30m ride, 3m run 2k swim weights 3 170 ride, 42 run, 9k swim 14-Sep Sunday OD race, long warm up, 12m spin down race was about 2k/44k/9k time was 2:09.35, tired, hot, dehydrated, but fun 4.5   2.4 45 7.5
          18.25               16.7  
      s b r w
PLANNED               ACTUAL            
15-Sep Monday 26m ride     1.25     15-Sep Monday     5m run 0.7   5
16-Sep Tuesday 8m run 30m ride 3k swim 3.5     16-Sep Tuesday 2k swim (Z1) 1hr ride (20min high Z2 spin) 8.75m run (Z2 + 10min stairs) 3   2 23 8.75
17-Sep Wednesday 5m run   70m ride, 3m run 4.5     17-Sep Wednesday weights   3m run - 47m bike (someZ4) - 3m run 3.7   47 6 1
18-Sep Thursday 8m run   4k swim 2.25     18-Sep Thursday     7m run - 3k swim 2   3 7
19-Sep Friday 50m ride 4m run   3.5     19-Sep Friday light weights 40mile spin (Z1) 2.7   40 1
20-Sep Saturday 8m run w 5k 1k swim   1.5     20-Sep Saturday 5k race/8m total (tanked at 2 miles - Friday ride didnít help for this one 1k easy   1.5   1 8
21-Sep Sunday coke miami race 40m cooldown ride 4m run 3.5 225 ride, 40 run, 10k swim 21-Sep Sunday wm up/coke race/1m jog down decent race, solid bike/run had no desire to do any more exercise today 2   1.2 20 5.5
        20               15.6  
                            s b r w
PLANNED             ACTUAL            
22-Sep Monday off   0     22-Sep Monday     6m run easy 0.75   6
23-Sep Tuesday 3k swim 20 ride 8m run 3.25     23-Sep Tuesday     weights, 8.5m run (start easy, build to tempo), 3k swim 2.5   3 8.5 1
24-Sep Wednesday   5 run 40 ride, 3 run 3.25     24-Sep Wednesday     ride 45 (25 fast), 2.7m brick 2.7   45 2.7
25-Sep Thursday 8m run   4k swim 2.25     25-Sep Thursday     3m run, 4k swim, 4.5m run steady 2.2   4 7.5
26-Sep Friday   30 ride 5m run 2.75     26-Sep Friday   weights 8m run (AeT to tempo - last mile 6:10) 1.75   8 1
27-Sep Saturday 10m run   20m spin 2.5     27-Sep Saturday 70m ride, 15min run   4   70 2
28-Sep Sunday 62 ride 3k swim   4 150 ride, 39 run, 10k swim 28-Sep Sunday 2k swim with some speedwork, 8.5m run build through 2-7 (last mile 5:50) 2   2 8.5
          18               15.9  
                              s b r w
PLANNED             ACTUAL            
29-Sep Monday   8m run 1.25     29-Sep Monday   45min spin 5m run 1.5   14 5
30-Sep Tuesday 3k swim 15m ride 8m run 3     30-Sep Tuesday light weights
2.8k swim (10 x 100 4 on 1:15, 6 on 1:10 to gauge the fitness, held 1:05s so good but not great)
  5m run with 4 x 150 yd strides 1.75   2.8 5 1
1-Oct Wednesday 4m run   30m ride, 2k swim 2.5     1-Oct Wednesday   30min run with 5 strides 45min trainer ride with 4 build accelerations to race pace 1.25   15 4
2-Oct Thursday 3m jog     0.5     2-Oct Thursday 1500 swim with 8 x 50 build to race pace on :50 travel   0.7   1.5
3-Oct Friday 1k swim, 7m ride     0.8     3-Oct Friday travel   30min spin with 4 x 1minute race pace, 15min jog 0.8   10 2
4-Oct Saturday USAT age group nationals     3     4-Oct Saturday warm up: about 22minutes jogging w 2 strides, 10min swim (no bike trainer and bikes not allowed out of T), 15min run cooldown 18:45, 58:59, 36:45, 3rd overall, felt strong and relaxed, big finishing kick bourbon street intervals and beer to spirits transitions 3   2.2 25 10
5-Oct Sunday easy run     1 35 run, 80m ride, 7.5k swim 5-Oct Sunday travel all you can eat chicken wings in tallahassee  
          12.05               9  
Total for period: taper
goal time vs actual time (hrs): week1 week2 week3 week4 week 5 total
85.3 72.2 84.64% 15 16.7 15.6 15.9 9 74.09%
goal bike vs actual (miles):
755 550 72.85% 111 130 130 115 64 72.85%
goal run vs actual run (miles)
211 198.65 94.15% 46 43.2 40.25 43.2 26 94.15%
goal swim vs actual swim (kilometer):
45 38 84.44% 7.4 7.9 7.2 9 6.5 84.44%
goal strength session vs actual (sessions):
6 8 133.33% 2 2 2 2 1 133.33%
Weekly Averages for 5-week Period
hours run bike swim
14.44 39.73 110 7.6
comments: back to MSS, Z2 work after an experiment in high intensity in August left me a shivering wreck.Not much true speedwork in this block, but the work from the summer carried over well.3rd overall at USAT AG nationals was a good race, I stayed strong throughout and pushed it to the finish line. You can see that my weekly hours were nothing to write home about.